good bye

Each month, for the past twelve months following Marie Pechet’s passing I have, with her blessing, carried her Blog forward, sharing about Marie in ways that I hope you have found meaningful, connective, and honoring of our shared friend. This month is the anniversary of Marie’s death, and the final blog entry on Adventures in Spiritual Living.

mariekids

Dear Marie,

I am writing to you on behalf of all of us, and I have every confidence you are hearing me, in your own way, because it seems you always do.

We – all of us – are not the same without you. We’ve had a year to deal with the shock, the loss, the pain, the sadness, the sweet reminders, the loneliness, and the new little surprises and serendipities, filling in the places where you used to be.

We are not the same without you because we have lost you and we can’t have you back.

We are not the same.

But we are better.

We are better for having loved you and been loved by you. Better for having read your words  – so many of them – and been lifted up by the feelings of hope you felt, and translated over for us. We are better because we believed in you, turned to you, listened to you, laughed and smiled  along with you. We are better because you managed to be an authentic, honest and bright light while facing challenges and losses most of us can’t even imagine.

We are better because you reminded us that we are lucky to be alive – and that that aliveness is precious, and worth waking up to, over and over again, no matter how many times we forget.

We are better because we healed you. You asked us to send energy to assist you along the path and we did. And that made us better people. Not just because we tried, but because we succeeded. Your path was eased by our love, and for that we are so glad.

You wanted to connect, to feel better, and to find your way to the other side of the pain. And you have.

Your journey was of a higher quality because you dared to WANT to stay here as long as you could, and because you dared to ASK FOR and RECEIVE our help.

It seems best to close this blog with your own words. I found these from 2012. You were speaking to each of us, as you will continue to do, I believe, if only we will open our hearts and listen:

“You are part of the healing process as well. We each have a role in everything we touch, and your touch in my life feels like grace. 

Thank you.

Love,
Marie”

~Anna Huckabee Tull

This completes Marie’s Blog, Adventures in Spiritual Living. The Blog will likely remain up in an altered state where it can be seen but no longer added to with comments.

From now on, Anna will be blogging from livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com. You can see the first blog entries from this location now, sign up for more blogs from Anna in the future, or remove yourself from the list as you see fit.

Learn More:
Read Marie’s earlier blogsMarie’s earlier blogs
Anna’s websites: AnnaHuckabeeTull.comCustomCraftedSongs.com
Album featuring Marie’s songs: cdbaby.com/cd/annahuckabeetull

Thanks for an amazing journey of healing for me.    –Anna

20 thoughts on “good bye

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and for reading along. It has been an incredible experience and I have found it a profound way to heal. The beautiful boys are finding their way. They had some good mothering when they needed it most!

  1. Marie chose wisely when she chose you, Anna. You honored her, yourself, and all of us reading this in fulfilling her request so lovingly and beautifully. And your final framing is healing indeed.

    • xoxoxoxox THANK YOU!!!!! This was one of the coolest things I took on this year. It opened my heart and my mind in unexpected ways!

  2. Thank you for carrying forward Marie’s spirit and memory for this year. Those of us she touched will never forget her. I wish Marie’s family peace and blessings moving forward.

    • Doing this as been such an incredible experience for me. I am happy to report there has been much healing in Marie’s family of late! On a separate note, perhaps, if it is of interest to you, you will consider following my brand new blog at livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com. Whether you do or not, I thank you for coming along on this ride. xoxo – Anna

    • I am so glad this has been as meaningful to others as it has to me. Perhaps, if it is of interest to you, you will consider following my brand new blog at livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com. Whether you do or not, I thank you for coming along on this ride. xoxo – Anna

  3. Thank you, Anna, for your sweet and kind words given to us monthly in the form of this blog.
    May Marie’s Family have Peace in their hearts, and enthusiasm and love in their lives.
    Blessings … ❤️❤️❤️

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. Doing this has been such an honor and a blessing. Perhaps, if it is of interest to you, you will consider following my brand new blog at livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com. Whether you do or not, I thank you for coming along on this ride. xoxo – Anna

    • Thank you for saying this, Glenn. Sometimes it feels that way to me too! Perhaps, if it is of interest to you, you will consider following my brand new blog at livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com. Whether you do or not, I thank you for coming along on this ride. xoxo – Anna

  4. Anna, I loved walking with Marie and I appreciate her wisdom of asking you to carry on with us. Thank your for your extended hands as we journey forward. ~Mg

  5. You are so very welcome! Thank you for “walking” with me as well. And perhaps you’ll even want to walk further, with my new blog! at livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com.

  6. Thank you, Anna, for writing this blog for the past twelve months. It’s very true that your words have gently guided me through the pain of losing Marie, making it a little more bearable. Thank you for easing me into this new place. With love, Jamie

    • I know that Marie officially only asked me to write one final blog (and I guess this was it!) It just felt to me like there was more to say, and more shared grieving and healing that might be possible. I still remember the look on her face when I suggested 12 instead of 1 entry. Maybe she knew what we have learned – that community is powerful and that love is best when shared! Thank you for following along. And my new blog is livingthedeeperyes.wordpress.com in case you want to follow along! Best to you in your journey forward! – Anna

Leave a comment